• Under the blades
    13 Jan 18

    Under the blades

    ARTIST: Maria Lilia Cano, piano solo
    TITLE: Under the blades


    C. Debussy - Estude 1
    Pour les cinq doigts.                                           

     J.Nin-Culmell - Tonades Vol. IV.                                                                    
    Ball de garlandes
    Ball de Sant Farriol i bolangera
    El cant dels ocells
    Ball pla i l’esquerrana

    Tres danses fantàstiques
    Tres Danzas Argentinas                                                             

    Fantasia en Re menor K397                                             

     I. Cervantes - Danzas Cubans                                                                       
    Adiós a Cuba
    Los tres golpes

     E.  Lecuona
    Danza de los Ñàñigos
    Ernán López-Nussa 

    María Lilia Cano, Pianist
    Born in the Habana Cuba, she started her pianist studies at the age of 6 with the compositor and Cuban pianist Maria Matilde Alea. She is graduated from the conservatories “Manuel Saumell”, “Amadeo Roldám” of pedagogical music and pianist interpretation in the Conservatorio Superior de Musica Del Liceu of Barcelona with the professor and concertmaster Daniel Ligorio. Moreover she got formed in perfectioning with professors as Albert Atenelle in Cataluna or Gerlinde Otto in Leipzig. 
    Along her career she obtained diverse acknowledgements so much in the pianist interpretation world as well as in the musicology. The following stood out: 
    In 1955 and 1996 she received II and III Prizes in the National Concert “Amadeo roldán” in La Habana, Cuba, where she got mentioned for the best Cuban and Latino American music interpretation.
    In 1998, she won the II Prize and “The best Cuban music interpretation Prize” in national competitions.
    In 1999 “Special Prize for the interpretation” in the V Piano Festival “Ernesto Lecuona”
    In 2003 I Prize in the Scientific Day “Amadeo Roldán” for the work “The music from the psychologic and psychologic point of the view” 
    In 2010 received the II Prize in the IV category of “individual interpretation” in the Open musical interpretation contest L’Arjau of Barcelona, the city where she actually lives. She gave concerts so much in her original country, Cuba, as in Spain, France and Germany, receiving the best critics in magazines as “La Revista Musical Catalana”
    In the year 2015 she had the privilege of showing her first discographic work as soloist, dedicated exclusively to Cuban dance for piano, with works of compositors as Ignacio Cervantes, Ernesto Lecuona and José Maria Vitier. The disc was made with the special collaboration of the Auditory Pau Casal’s direction and managing. Her second discographic work under the seal Beltempo Record is getting produced and the launching is planned for the following month and December of the present year as soloist.

This event is framed within
Saturday's Classical Concerts

Saturday's Classical Concerts

Tea in the Gomis Palace

Learn more